Saturday, October 31, 2020

Darqueze Dennard headlines list of MSU award winners

June 6, 2014

On June 6, it was announced that former co-captain and MSU cornerback Darqueze Dennard was announced as the George Alderton Male Athlete of the Year, and women's golfer Allyssa Ferrell took home the Female Athlete of the Year honor.

The award is given to one male and female athlete each year. It is meant to show the top athlete of each gender out of every athletic program.

The award is named after George Alderton, a former sports editor for the Lansing State Journal. Alderton is best know for his creation of the "Spartans" nickname for which are sports teams are now known.

Dennard was recently drafted into the NFL by the Cincinnati Bengals. He was the first Spartan player to be drafted in the first round since Charles Rodgers in 2003.

Ferrell ranked first on the team last season with a 74.14 average and is just the third Spartan to place in the top-10 at the NCAA championships. 

Additionally, senior hockey forward Greg Wolfe and senior field hockey midfielder Kristen Henn were named MSU's Big Ten Conference Medal of Honor, which honors both academic and athletic success. 

Senior volleyball setter Kristen Kelsay was honored for the Chester Brewer Leadership Award and the Dr. James Feurig Achievement and Service Award.

Lastly, junior thrower Antonio James and junior jumper Tori Franklin were each recognized for the Big Ten Sportsmanship Award


Share and discuss “Darqueze Dennard headlines list of MSU award winners ” on social media.