Big Ten announces new bowl lineup

The Big Ten announced its postseason bowl lineup Tuesday for the 2010-13 college football seasons, which includes six bowl games to be played on Dec. 31 and New Year’s Day.

The conference announced four-year extensions with the Capital One, Outback and Insight bowls, as well as new four-year agreements with the Konica Minolta Gator Bowl, Texas Bowl and Dallas Football Classic.

“We are excited to announce our bowl lineup for the 2010-13 seasons, with seven outstanding destinations in Arizona, California, Florida and Texas that will allow us to showcase our programs in six different New Year’s Eve and New Year’s Day games,” Big Ten Commissioner Jim Delany said in a statement. “Big Ten student-athletes, coaches and fans can now look forward to rewarding trips to Orlando, Tampa, Jacksonville, Tempe, Houston and Dallas, along with the conference’s traditional trip to Pasadena for the Rose Bowl.”

The Rose Bowl, Capital One Bowl and Outback Bowl, respectively, will continue to receive the top three Big Ten teams. The Capital One Bowl and Outback Bowl will continue to pair Big Ten teams against Southeastern Conference programs.

The Gator and Insight bowls will alternate between the fourth and fifth selections. The Big Ten will face an SEC team in the Gator Bowl, and will play a Big 12 team in the Insight Bowl.

The Texas Bowl replaces the Alamo Bowl and the Dallas Football Classic will pit the No. 7 Big Ten team against a team from Conference USA.

According to an report, the Little Caesars Pizza Bowl also is likely to host the Big Ten’s eighth team, but no official announcement has been made.

Comments powered by Disqus

Please note All comments are eligible for publication in The State News.