Saturday, February 24, 2024

The State News wins 27 awards in Michigan Press Association contest

March 24, 2020
The State News building sign on Grand River Avenue.
The State News building sign on Grand River Avenue. —

Student journalists from The State News received 27 awards in the Michigan Press Association's 2019 College Better Newspaper Contest.

More than 1,044 entries submitted by 20 Michigan college newspapers were reviewed by members of the Montana Press Association.

The State News was named College Newspaper of the Year in the category for newspapers publishing weekly, and received 1,370 points, more than any other collegiate newspaper in the competition. The entries represented work done during the 2018-19 year.

"I'm incredibly proud of the hard work all the reporters, photographers and editors did throughout the year," Marie Weidmayer, The State News' 2018-19 editor-in-chief, said. "We were able to handle all the curveballs thrown at us and write award-winning articles and take amazing photos, and I'm so grateful to have worked with so many talented people."

The State News received a range of awards, including prizes in photography, writing, page design and advertising. With the exception of the advertising awards, all awards won by The State News are in the newspapers publishing weekly division.

College Newspaper of the Year:

The State News


Best Writer:

Anna Liz Nichols, third place.

Submitted works for this award: Original MSU alumni magazine leaked, A dog named Justice: After a 'career change,' survivors receive support and Federal report: 'No way' for MSU to remedy past Clery Act violations.

Best Column:

Chase Michaelson, third place.

My journey to find the ultimate Mike Garland story.

Best Editorial:

State News Editorial Board, second place.

Editorial: Silence is not the response to sexual assault.

Support student media! Please consider donating to The State News and help fund the future of journalism.

Best Feature Story:

Matt Schmucker, second place.

Survivor Emma Ann Miller still healing one year later.

Madison O'Connor, third place.

'Drunken debauchery': A look back at the '99 riot.

Best Investigative Reporting:

Anna Liz Nichols, second place.

Greenwashed: The rewriting of the alumni magazine.

C.J. Moore, third place.

In 'male-dominated' career field, engineering junior persists.

Best News Story:

Mila Murray, first place.

Engler to discontinue Nassar fund, despite expert advice, source says.

Evan Jones, third place.

Michigan Avenue could look very different in 5 years.

Best Sports News/Features:

Chase Michaelson, first place.

Virginia's national championship and the healing of wounds.

Casey Harrison, second place.

Next up: Xavier Tillman balances family with new starting role.


Best Photographer:

Matt Zubik, first place.

Submitted works for this award:


Best Feature Photo:

Sylvia Jarrus, first place

MHSAA Divison 1 Finals


Matt Zubik, third place

MSU student plays at jazz festival


Best News Photo:

Matt Zubik, first place

Outside CNN's Democratic Debate


Matt Zubik, second place

Cedar Village Riot


Nic Antaya, Honorable Mention

Cedar Village Riot


Best Sports Photo:

Anntaninna Biondo, first place

Michigan State vs. Central Michigan


Annie Barker, third place

MSU vs. Duke



Best Front Page Design:

Lauren Gewirtz and Daena Faustino, third place.

The Plight of the Unpaid Intern.


Lauren Gewirtz and Daena Faustino, Honorable Mention.

Who run the world? Girls.


Best Non-Front Page Design:

Lauren Gewirtz, Anna Nichols and Matt Schmucker, first place.

Greenwashed: The rewriting of the alumni magazine.



Best Single Ad:

Courtney McKown, second place.

Harper's — Best of MSU.


Courtney McKown, third place.

Campbell's Market Basket.


Courtney McKown, honorable mention.

Denise Wagner Graduation Announcement.


Best Special Advertising Section:

State News Staff, second place.

Best of MSU 2019.



Share and discuss “The State News wins 27 awards in Michigan Press Association contest” on social media.