Saturday, December 4, 2021

Taylor, Ballinger grab honors on All-Big Ten teams

March 5, 2002

One day after winning Player of the Week honors for the first time in his career, Spartan sophomore guard Marcus Taylor was selected by coaches and media Tuesday as a member of the All-Big Ten First Team.

Taylor led the conference in scoring and assists with averages of 17.7 points and five assists per game. The Lansing native surged late in the season, helping the Spartans (19-10 overall, 10-6 Big Ten) to likely secure a NCAA Tournament bid.

Junior forward Adam Ballinger was selected to the coaches’ All-Big Ten Third Team, joining Taylor as the only other Spartan on the coaches or media lists.

Both the coaches and the media named Indiana forward Jared Jeffries as the conference’s Player of the Year and Minnesota forward Rick Rickert as Freshman of the Year.

Indiana guard Dane Fife and Minnesota guard Tavarus Bennert were named Co-Defensive Players of the Year. Wisconsin head coach Bo Ryan earned Coach of the Year honors.

Joining Taylor on the Big Ten coaches first team are Jeffries, the only unanimous selection, Ohio State guard Brian Brown, Wisconsin forward Kirk Penney and Illinois guard Frank Williams.

The media picked the same five for its first team.

Rickert, Illinois forward Brian Cook, Iowa forward Reggie Evans, Indiana guard Tom Coverdale and Ohio State guard Brent Darby were on the coaches’ second team.

Illinois forward Robert Archibald, Northwestern forward Tavaras Hardy, Minnesota forward Dusty Rychart, Purdue guard Willie Deane and Iowa guard Luke Recker made the coaches’ third team.

The media’s second team consisted of Cook, Coverdale, Deane, Evans and Rickert.

Joining Ballinger on the third team were Darby, Recker, Rychart and Michigan forward LaVel Blanchard.


Share and discuss “Taylor, Ballinger grab honors on All-Big Ten teams” on social media.